FAQ

Questions about the installation

On which devices/operating system does the Product Buddy run?

The Product Buddy runs on all common operating systems (except for Android, but we are working on it).

Which browsers support the product buddy?

Currently, the Product Buddy is supported by the Google Chrome Browser (under Windows/Linux/Mac) and the Mozilla Firefox. If you want to keep yourself up-to-date, follow us on Twitter. We will let you know any news.

The Product Buddy Icon disappeared from my toolbar! What shall I do?

Don't worry! Even if the Icon is not visible anymore in the toolbar at the upper right, you can restart your Product Buddy easily:

For the Chrome Browser: paste or write into your browser address line

chrome://extensions/
and check the box of your Product Buddy entry. It should become active immediately and the icon should become visible at the upper right, in the toolbar.

For the Mozilla Firefox enter

about:addons
into the address line and click on the button "activate" of your Product Buddy entry. It should become active immediately and the icon should become visible at the upper right, in the toolbar.

My Product Buddy suddenly runs slowly and does not display product analyses completely (especially after an automated update)?

This may happen if you have analyzed a very high number of products. In this case, you have to take care of your history. You can enter the "Your History" section of the Product Buddy and either press the button "Clear history" at the bottom of you product list, or delete single products by clicking the red "X" to the left of the product entry.

Where do I get the latest version?

Usually, the Product Buddy is updated automatically. In case of problems, follow the same procedure as under "The Product Buddy Icon disappeared from my toolbar! What shall I do?", with the only difference, that you do not check a box (Chrome) or press a button (Firefox), but click on "Update", if a new version is available.

Questions about the use

How do I analyze a product with the Product Buddy?

When opening a product page in one of the supported online shops, the Product Buddy becomes active. This is indicated by a small "ON" sign, which appears on top of the Product Buddy Icon (only in Google Chrome, not in Firefox). By clicking this icon in the toolbar, the opened product will be loaded into the Product Buddy. Our suggestion:

  1. Visit a shop that is supported be the Product Buddy
  2. Search for a product with reviews and go to the product page
  3. Start the analysis by clicking on the Product Buddy icon in the toolbar
  4. Make use of the short moment the analysis takes and read the product description
  5. Click on the aspects in the Product Buddy to learn more
  6. Take a better and more informed purchasing decision :-)

What does the red, green, or gray coloring of the aspects tell me?

An aspect colored in red, is mentioned within negative contexts by a majority of reviewers. Whereas an aspect colored in green, is mentioned within positive contexts by a majority of reviewers. This is not a clear fact, though, but the result of a fully automated algorithmic evaluation. In some cases, this evaluation may be wrong and therefore it has to be verified. Aspects colored in gray, indicate that the algorithm was not able to come to a clear decision, whether a majority had mentioned such an aspect negatively or positively. Still, the gray colored aspects we show somehow stick out in the reviews and often may be relevant to you, that's why we opt to show such aspects with undecidable sentiment as well.

Which shops does the Product Buddy support and why doesn't it work for my favorite shop?

Currently, we support amazon.de, amazon.com, and amazon.co.uk. If you would like the Product Buddy to work for your favorite shop as well, we will try consider it in the future. Just tell us about the shop, e.g. via the feedback form within the Product Buddy :-)

Why don't you always analyze all of the reviews and why does it take some seconds until the result will be displayed?

It's because we analyze the text on request, in the very same moment that you start the Product Buddy :-) In order to speed up the analysis and thus avoid waiting times, in some cases we draw a representative sample of all reviews for analysis, when the product has lots of reviews. The size of the sample is displayed in the Product Buddy.

Why does the Product Buddy in rare cases show results that are obviously wrong?

The Product Buddy applies cutting edge technology for the automated semantic analysis of text data. The algorithms analyze reviews for all different kinds of products and are able to cope well with very different kinds of expressions and phrases. Still, some phrases may have quite different semantics and lead to different interpretations in the contexts of different products. Some phenomena, like irony, may be hard to identify even for human readers. For such reasons, a completely correct analysis is not always possible. However, the underlying technology is being improved continuously by Vidatics, in order to further enhance the analysis quality.

How do I interpret the star distribution, which appears in the detail view of a single aspect?

This is the star distribution of only those product reviews, which mention the corresponding aspect. This star distribution may indicate which influence the currently displayed aspect has on the overall rating of reviewers. Yet, such hypotheses may not hold in all cases. The reason is that reviewers may have taken many different aspects and influence factors into account, when deciding on their overall rating.

Other questions about the product buddy

How can you offer the Product Buddy for free?

This is only possible through a smart technical conception and by limiting the permission to private non-commercial use only. If you work at a company, for which our advanced text analytics technology could be relevant, please, don't hesitate to send us an email or contact us through via the contact form!

Do you put advertisements into the Product Buddy or do you prefer certain products?

No and No, because transparency, independence, and objectivity mean a lot to us. Our aim is to keep the Product Buddy free of advertisements. We can't tell today, if this will be possible on the long run, at least within a free version. If it might become the case, sometime in the future, we will do everything to maintain transparency and explicitly label advertisements as such within the Product Buddy. In any case, we do not and will not prefer any product, neither within the analysis process nor with respect to the representation displayed in the Product Buddy.

Where does the price information for products stem from?

We take those data from third party providers. The corresponding data source is declared. We cannot provide any guarantees with respect to the reliability of those data.

Am I allowed to use the Product Buddy in a commercial context?

If you pursue commercial interests or want to use the Product Buddy in a commercial setting, you have contact us under info@vidatics.de, as this free-of-charge version of our Product Buddy is only for private non-commercial use. We are looking forward to your message.

For which languages does the Product Buddy work?

This non-commercial version currently supports German and English only.

Questions about the company

Who is behind the Product Buddy?

The Product Buddy is a tool from the Vidatics GmbH, which offers innovative text analysis algorithms for companies. It has been a longstanding desire of us to simplify and speed up the reading of product reviews, because we also spend a lot of time on it. In order to make end users profit from our technology, we decided to provide the free Product Buddy for private persons.

Will my data be treated confidentially?

Yes, this is very important to us! We are a German company and adhere to the strict German data protection legislation. In addition, we have an external data protection officer and our servers run exclusively in German computing centers. For further information regarding data protection we would like to refer you to our Privacy Policy.

May I contact you?

Yes, of course, we are looking forward to it. You can contact us either via the feedback form within the Product Buddy or you can send your questions, criticism, or suggestions to info@product-buddy.com.

FAQ

Fragen zur Installation

Auf welchen Geräten/Betriebssystemen läuft der Product Buddy?

Der Product Buddy läuft auf allen gängigen Betriebssystemen (außer Android, aber daran arbeiten wir).

Von welchen Browsern wird der Product Buddy unterstützt?

Zurzeit wird der Product Buddy vom Google Chrome Browser (unter Windows/Linux/Mac) und Mozilla Firefox unterstützt. Falls du auf dem Laufenden bleiben möchtest folge uns auf Twitter. Wir melden uns dann mit Neuigkeiten bei dir.

Hilfe, mein Product Buddy-Icon in der Symbolleiste ist verschwunden! Was kann ich tun?

Nicht verzweifeln! Falls das Icon oben rechts in der Symbolleiste nicht mehr ersichtlich sein sollte, dann kannst du den Product Buddy sehr einfach wieder starten:

Im Chrome Browser: kopiere bzw. schreibe dazu einfach in deine Adresszeile im Browser

chrome://extensions/
und setze hinter dem Eintrag des Product Buddys wieder ein Häkchen. Er sollte dann wieder unmittelbar aktiviert sein und oben rechts in der Kopfleiste sollte das Icon sichtbar sein.

In Mozilla Firefox gib einfach

about:addons
in die Adresszeile und klicke hinter dem Eintrag zum Product Buddy auf die Schaltfläche “Aktivieren”. Er sollte dann wieder unmittelbar aktiviert sein und oben rechts in der Kopfleiste sollte das Icon sichtbar sein.

Mein Product Buddy ist plötzlich ganz langsam oder zeigt Produkte unvollständig an (insb. nach einem automatischen Update)?

Dies kann passieren wenn du ganz viele Produkte analysiert hast. Dann musst du mal wieder für Ordnung in deiner Historie sorgen. Hierzu kannst du in den Bereich “Deine Historie” im Product Buddy wechseln und bei Problemen entweder ganz unten auf dieser Seite den Button “Historie löschen” oder aber einzelne Produkte entfernen, indem du auf das rote X vor dem jeweiligen Produkt klickst.

Woher bekomme ich die neuste Version?

Der Product Buddy macht normalerweise automatisch Updates. Sollte es mal zu Problemen kommen, versuche einfach die gleiche Prozedur wie bei “Hilfe, mein Product-Buddy ist verschwunden! Was kann ich tun?”, mit dem einzigen Unterschied, dass du dann kein Häkchen (Chrome) setzt oder auf die Schaltfläche (Firefox) klickst, sondern auf Aktualisieren klickst, sofern eine neue Version verfügbar ist.

Fragen zur Nutzung

Wie analysiere ich ein Produkt im Product Buddy?

Wenn du eine Produktseite in einem der unterstützten Onlineshops geöffnet hast, schaltet sich der Product Buddy aktiv. Erkennen kannst du das daran (nur in Google Chrome, nicht in Firefox), dass ein kleiner Schriftzug mit “ON” auf dem Icon des Product Buddy aufleuchtet. Durch einen Klick des Icons in der Symbolleiste lädst du das entsprechende Produkt in den Product Buddy. Unsere Empfehlung daher:

  1. Einen (vom Buddy unterstützten) Shop aufsuchen
  2. Ein Produkt mit Bewertungen suchen und auf die Produktseite wechseln
  3. Die Analyse durch Klicken auf das Icon in der Symbolleiste starten
  4. Den kurzen Moment der Online-Analyse nutzen, um die Produktbeschreibung zu lesen
  5. Dann auf die Aspekte im Buddy klicken, um ein noch genaueres Bild zu bekommen
  6. Durch den Product Buddy eine besser informierte Entscheidung treffen :-)

Was bedeutet die rote, grüne oder graue Einfärbung von Aspekten?

Ein rot eingefärbter Aspekt wird von einer Mehrzahl der Rezensenten in einem negativen Zusammenhang erwähnt. Ein grün eingefärbter Aspekt wird hingegen von einer Mehrzahl der Rezensenten in einem positiven Zusammenhang erwähnt. Dabei handelt es sich nicht um ein Faktum, sondern um eine von vollautomatischen Algorithmen vorgenommene Einschätzung. Diese Einschätzung kann in manchen Fällen falsch sein und ist daher von dir zu verifizieren. Bei grau eingefärbten Aspekten kam der Algorithmus nicht zu einer eindeutigen Einschätzung, ob der Aspekt in einer klaren Mehrzahl negativ oder positiv erwähnt wurde. Jedoch war der Aspekt in diesem Falle dennoch auffällig in den Bewertungen und kann damit eine Relevanz für dich haben, so dass wir es als angemessen ansehen, auch graue Aspekte anzuzeigen.

Welche Shops unterstützt der Product Buddy und warum funktioniert der Product Buddy nicht auf meinem Lieblingsshop?

Im Moment unterstützen wir amazon.de, amazon.com und amazon.co.uk. Falls du möchtest, dass der Buddy auch auf deinem Lieblingsshop funktioniert, können wir ggf. gerne weitere Shops aufnehmen. Melde dich doch dazu einfach bei uns, z.B. über die Feedback-Funktion des Buddy :-)

Warum werden nicht immer alle Produktrezensionen analysiert bzw. warum dauert es manchmal ein paar Sekunden, bis ich ein Ergebnis sehe?

Weil wir den Text in dem Moment analysieren, in welchem du den Buddy startest :-) Um die Analyse zu beschleunigen und so Wartezeiten zu vermeiden, wird bei Produkten mit sehr vielen Rezensionen in manchen Fällen nur eine repräsentative Stichprobe aller Rezensionen zur Analyse herangezogen werden. Die Größe der Stichprobe wird im Product Buddy dargestellt.

Warum zeigt der Product Buddy auch manchmal offensichtlich falsche Sachen an?

Dem Product Buddy liegt modernste Technologie zur vollautomatischen semantischen Analyse von Textdaten zu Grunde. Die Algorithmen analysieren die Rezensionen von allen Arten von Produkten und kommen mit verschiedensten Ausdrücken und Formulierungen zurecht. Trotzdem können manche Formulierungen in verschiedenen Zusammenhängen und im Kontext verschiedener Produkte sehr unterschiedliche Bedeutungen und Interpretationen haben. Ironie ist z.B. etwas, was selbst wir als Mensch beim Lesen nicht immer eindeutig als solche identifizieren. Eine einhundertprozentige Analysegenauigkeit kann aus diesen Gründen nicht garantiert werden. Die zugrundeliegende Technologie wird aber beständig von uns weiterentwickelt, um die Analysequalität immer weiter zu verbessern.

Wie kann ich die Sterneverteilung interpretieren, die in der Detailansicht eines Aspekts erscheint?

Es handelt sich dabei um die Sterneverteilung ausschließlich derjenigen Produktrezensionen, in denen der entsprechende Aspekt erwähnt wird. Diese Sterneverteilung kann einen Hinweis auf den Einfluss des aktuell betrachteten Aspekts auf die Gesamteinschätzung des Rezensenten geben - muss es aber nicht. Dies rührt daher, dass die Rezensenten in ihrer Gesamtbewertung viele verschiedene Aspekte und Einflüsse berücksichtigt haben können.

Sonstige Fragen zum Buddy

Wie könnt ihr den Product Buddy kostenlos anbieten?

Das geht nur durch eine ausgeklügelte Konzeption auf technischer Seite und durch die ausschließlich private Nutzung. Falls du sogar in einem Unternehmen arbeitest für das unsere umfangreichen Textanalyse-Methoden relevant sein könnten, zögere nicht uns eine E-Mail zu senden oder uns über das Kontaktformular zu kontaktieren!

Gibt es Werbung im Product Buddy bzw. bevorzugt ihr bestimmte Produkte?

Nein und nein, denn Transparenz bedeutet uns viel. Wir möchten vorerst auf jeden Fall den Buddy werbefrei halten. Es wäre aber vermessen, wenn wir heute sagen würden, dass wir für alle Zukunft komplett garantieren können, dass das so bleibt - zumindest für eine kostenlose Version. Falls es in Zukunft irgendwann dazu kommen sollte, ist uns neben einer sehr gründlichen und sensiblen Abwägung wichtig, dass die Transparenz gewahrt wird und wir diese im Product Buddy als solche kennzeichnen. Wir bevorzugen auch keinerlei Produkte, weder im Analyseprozess noch in der Darstellung, da uns Objektivität ebenfalls sehr wichtig ist.

Woher stammen die Daten zur Preisentwicklung eines Produkts?

Diese Daten beziehen wir von Drittanbietern. Die jeweilige Datenquelle ist gekennzeichnet. Wir können keine Garantie zur Verlässlichkeit dieser Daten abgeben.

Darf ich den Product Buddy in einem kommerziellen Kontext benutzen?

Falls du kommerzielle Interessen verfolgst und den Buddy bzw. dessen Inhalte nutzen möchtest, musst du dich bei uns unter info@vidatics.de melden, da der Buddy nur für Privatpersonen zur unentgeltlichen Nutzung verfügbar ist. Wir freuen uns in diesem Fall auf deine Nachricht.

Funktioniert der Product Buddy nur auf Deutsch?

Die ersten englischsprachigen Angebote (bspw. amazon.co.uk oder amazon.com) sind mittlerweile mit dem Product Buddy nutzbar.

Fragen zum Unternehmen

Wer steckt hinter dem Product Buddy?

Der Product Buddy ist ein Tool der Vidatics GmbH, welche innovative Textanalyse-Algorithmen für Unternehmen anbietet. Wir haben schon seit langem den Wunsch, das Lesen von Produktrezensionen zu vereinfachen und zu beschleunigen, da wir gemerkt haben, dass wir damit selbst sehr viel Zeit verbringen. Damit auch Endnutzer von einem Teil unserer Techniken profitieren, wurde der kostenlose Buddy nun für Privatpersonen bereitgestellt.

Werden meine Daten vertraulich behandelt?

Ja und das ist uns wichtig! Wir sind ein deutsches Unternehmen und sind den deutschen Datenschutzgesetzen verpflichtet. Des Weiteren haben wir einen externen Datenschutzbeauftragten. Für weitergehende Informationen zum Thema Datenschutz verweisen wir auf unsere Datenschutzerklärung.

Kann ich Euch kontaktieren?

Klar, wir freuen uns immer darüber. Entweder über das Feedback-Formular im Buddy oder einfach eine Mail mit Fragen, Kritik oder Anregungen an info@product-buddy.com.